Icon-Adam-and-Eves-creation1

Indeed, it is now clear that the soul of a faithful person, the most worthy of all creatures because of the grace of God, is greater than heaven itself, since the heavens and the rest of creation cannot contain their Creator; only a faithful soul is His dwelling place and throne, and this only through the charity that the wicked lack.  The Truth says: Whoever loves me will be loved by My Father, and I too shall love him, and We shall come to him and make Our dwelling place with him.

St. Clare of Assisi, “The Third Letter to Agnes of Prague,” 52

Scripture for the day:  O Lord, you have searched me and known me! You know when I sit down and when I rise up; you discern my thoughts from afar.  You search out my path and my lying down and are acquainted with all my ways.  Even before a word is on my tongue, behold, O Lord, you know it altogether.  You hem me in, behind and before, and lay your hand upon me.  Such knowledge is too wonderful for me;  it is high; I cannot attain it. Where shall I go from your Spirit?  Or where shall I flee from your presence?  If I ascend to heaven, you are there!  If I make my bed in Sheol, you are there! If I take the wings of the morning and dwell in the uttermost parts of the sea,  even there your hand shall lead me, and your right hand shall hold me.  For you formed my inward parts;  you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.  I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made.  Wonderful are your works;  my soul knows it very well.  My frame was not hidden from you,
when I was being made in secret, intricately woven in the depths of the earth.  (Psalm 139:1-10, 13-15)

Lenten action for the day: We are made in God’s image and likeness.  This implies that we all have a deep connection to God, and therefore, inherent worth and dignity.  Treat others that you come in contact with respect for the value they hold in God’s eyes.

