ast_supper_Simon_ushakov1685

As He revealed Himself to the holy apostles in the true flesh, so He reveals Himself to us now in sacred bread.  And as they saw only His flesh by an insight of their flesh, yet believed that He was God as they contemplated Him with their spiritual eyes, let us, as we see bread and wine with our bodily eyes, see and firmly believe that they are His mos holy Body and Blood living and true.  And in this way the Lord is always with His faithful, as He Himself says:  “Behold I am with you until the end of the age.”

St. Francis of Assisi, The Admonitions (I: The Body of Christ), 129

Scripture for the day:  For I received from the Lord what I also delivered to you, that the Lord Jesus on the night when he was betrayed took bread,and when he had given thanks, he broke it, and said, “This is my body which is for you. Do this in remembrance of me.”In the same way also he took the cup, after supper, saying, “This cup is the new covenant in my blood. Do this, as often as you drink it, in remembrance of me.” For as often as you eat this bread and drink the cup, you proclaim the Lord’s death until he comes. (I Corinthians 11:23-26)

Lenten action for the day: During Lent, make a concerted effort to participate in Holy Communion, praying to Christ as you do so.

